Thursday, June 29, 2017

Canada 150 Week: Confederation

Years after the War of 1812, the rebellion of 1837 and experimenting with responsible government, Upper and Lower Canada (Ontario and Quebec respectively), New Brunswick and Nova Scotia formally joined together as an official dominion. It was no longer a series of disjointed regions with competing interests. Compelled by the expanding land mass and force of the US and driven by economic expansion, the first four provinces paved the way for a much larger Dominion. By the beginning of the twentieth century, Canada consisted of seven provinces and two territories.

No comments: